Anahata or Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located at the center of the chest and is responsible for emotional empowerment. This chakra governs our feelings of love, compassion, understanding and forgiveness. The Sanskrit name for this chakra is Anahata, which means Fresh/Clean.
Anahata Chakra







Musical Note





“Yam” or “a” as in ah




Love and Balance




I love and am loved




Heart, lungs, immune system, thymes gland, lymph glands, circulatory system, rib cage, diaphragm breasts, shoulders, arms, thymus, esophagus, hands

Information Stored

Connections or "heart strings" to those whom we love



A balanced heart chakra makes a person a humanitarian. Such a person sees “good” in everyone and is inclined to nurture others. A person with an open heart chakra is clear about the purpose of her life and can easily figure out what she loves to do. A clear heart chakra brings calmness and joyfulness to ones nature. A balanced heart chakra means balanced human and divine aspects and balanced masculine and feminine aspects of one’s nature.


An over-active heart chakra causes a person to become demanding and overly critical. Such a person will be egoistic, inconsiderate and will not go out of her way to help others. A person with an unclear heart chakra would use money or sex to control people and behave like a martyr.


An unclear heart chakra makes a person indecisive and in constant need of reassurance. Such a person is possessive, melodramatic and a master of conditional love. It brings bitterness in life as one feels that their life is unfulfilled and they do not recognize the place in their family and society. A person with a weak heart chakra often feels sorry for her and feels unworthy of love.


Issues associated with a weak or unclear Heart Chakra are:


Physical Issues

1.      Heart conditions

2.      High blood pressure

3.      Fatigue

4.      Asthma

5.      Insomnia

6.      Lung & breast cancers

7.      Thoracic spine problems


Emotional Issues

1.      Negativity

2.      Tension

3.      Paranoia

4.      Anger

5.      Jealousy

6.      Envy

7.      Lack of confidence

How to balance the Heart Chakra

There are various ways in which you can balance your heart chakra to prevent or heal the ailments associated with it.



1.      Push-ups

2.      Swimming (breast stroke)



1.      Camel Posture - Step 1

2.      Bhujangasana or The Cobra pose

3.      Matsyasana or Fish posture

4.      Sukh-Purvak

5.      Gomukhasana

6.      Garudasana or Eagle Pose


  1. Leafy vegetables: spinach, kale, dandelion greens, etc.
  2. Air vegetables: broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, celery, squash, etc.
  3. Liquids: green teas
  4. Spices: basil, sage, thyme, cilantro, parsley



Sitting cross legged on the floor, place your right hand in front of the lower part of your breast bone and your left hand on your left knee. For both the hands, touch the tip of your index finger to the tip of your thumb. Chant the sound of “Yam” while concentrating on the heart chakra at the spine level with the heart.



Say the following whenever you can

1.      I deeply and truly love and approve of myself

2.      I am adequate at all times to do that which is required of me

3.      I love who I am

4.      I am willing to love everything about myself

5.      I trust in love

6.      I open my heart to love

7.      I forgive myself

8.      I forgive those who need forgiving for not being what I wanted them to be

9.      I acknowledge my own loveliness

10.  I am pure, good, and innocent

11.  Love is the purpose of my life

12.  Love is everywhere

13.  I open myself to the healing powers of love

14.  I follow the path of the heart

15.  I am confident that the healing power of God's love will heal my mind, heart, and body


Gemstones/Minerals, Flower Essences and Scents
Various minerals, gemstones, flower essences and scents help to stimulate, energize and cleanse the heart chakra


Gemstones and Minerals: Emerald, tourmaline (emerald green, green, pink), green aventurine, green jade, Kunzite, malachite, rose quartz, rhodonite, plume agate, rutillated quartz, ruby, rhodochrosite, amber, blue topaz, Mother-of-Pear

Flower Essences and Scents: Holly, poppy, California wild rose, amber or sandalwood fragrance



Essential Oils           
Sandalwood, amber, attar of rose, cedar wood


Attar of rose, jasmine


1.      Hug yourself

2.      Serve others freely

3.      Watch tender movies

4.      Listen to music – soft and romantic

5.      Play with puppies or kittens

6.      Sit holding a baby for a while

7.      With your eyes closed, imagine a pink cloud emanating from your body and surrounding you